The Fijian Way



Lindsay’s Collection of Observations

sany0034

A collection of my observations:

> The Fijian people are beautiful. They have such pretty skin. They are far less consumed by their appearance than other countries. Their priority is not in fashion, the size of their waist lines or the latest cosmetic alterations.  The average Fijian woman is about a size 16 which is considered “plus size” in America. They don’t follow low carb diets rather their diets are high in carbs (rice, bread and dalo), they don’t rise early in the morning in time for their pilates class rather they rise early to get their home made breads in the oven and scrub their clothes by hand before the hot Fijian sun sets in. Their priority is in loving their family (many small 20×20 homes house 12-15 ppl), loving God, loving Fiji and loving other people (even Americans). The Fijians are ohhh so loving. They always have a smile on their face. Smiles and happiness just seems like the Fijian way. I may get home sick, but that doesn’t mean I have not felt overwhelmingly welcomed by the people of this culture. 

> I live in a hostel with ~ 15 deaf girls and family of five who run the hostel.  My single person bedroom is about 5 feet wide. I have a  window ( one of my favorite parts of the day is drawing back the sheet hangs as my curtain to reveal the blue Fijian morning sky and green palm trees). I live out of my two suite cases that are placed on the floor.  I have to remember to make sure that my suite case is fully zipped when finished. I learned this the hard way; when one evening I returned to my room to find my suite case infested with bugs ( they must have smelt the dark chocolate bar my Mom snuck in there for my cravings). I have a white bug net over my bed, during the day it looks pretty old and ugly but at night in the dark, you feel as though you’re laying under a lace canopy.

> The girls that I live with awake up at 5:30am Mon-Fri. They each have rotating duties. One sweeps the floor, one makes breakfast (porridge or break & butter), one packs the lunches for their school day, one dusts the windows, one cleans the bathroom floor. They come see me for any medical care between 7a-7:45a and then head to school by 8am. They all walk to school. I admire the structure these children have, they have better structure and discipline than many grown adults. 

The children are polite always “signing” – excuse me , please , thank you.  

images4

> Within my first 12 hours of being in Fiji i noticed that both bathrooms I went into had no toilet paper, and no hand soap at the sink? I was quite caught off guard and had to conjure up creative ways to make use, before going to the super market and picking up my own stock. This goes for the hostel, the school, and the public places in town.  I’m one of those people who even likes to wash their hands twice or perhaps for 1 whole minute, having no soap was unheard of to me. Since then, its just assumed that i always carry a roll of toilet paper and a bottle of hand sanitizer in my bag. One day I was walking home with one of the students (a hearing student). I asked her what she learned about at school that day and she replied “we learned about the different types of toilets” I figured this was my opportunity to ask about the toilet paper. Her response was that many Fijians hide their toilet paper and keep it for themselves so no one steals it. Well that explained it for me! From now on I bring my own.

> If in Fiji I would advise you to always carry an umbrella with you.  The skies open up and Fiji experiences the some of the hardest rains- but they don’t last long. 

> If you order an iced coffee be prepared to get something that looks like a coffee shake. I’ve often craved a nice cold ice coffee on a hot day here, but i did not crave the calories they add to their version of iced coffee. They add ice cream, chocolate, cream….. looks tasty but perhaps for dessert.  

>  We’re located in Suva, which is the capitol of Fiji, its a city like feel. You rarely see Fijians driving in their car. They either walk, take taxi’s, or buses. To do their grocery shopping they hop in a cab and go to town, no convenient SUV’s here.

> In Fiji Diet Coke is called “Coke Cola Light”.

>To be continued…!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. wow lindsay!
    your observations sound so romantic: you seem to be delving into the exciting and mysterious quality of fijian life. the ice coffee there sounds so tremendous, i’ll have to try that during the summer, maybe for breakfast… :)

    so, now that you’ve been there a little while, do you and stephen find that you enjoy the simplicity, or does it feel daunting?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

